“You can go Higher, You can go Deeper”…

May 21, 2009

Twitter

… but seriously Kara DioGuardi, those are the worst American Idol winner song lyrics I’ve yet to hear. It was all cheesy and just, bad, I don’t know how else to say it. I haven’t been following American Idol too closely this season, but thanks to Twitter, I know pretty much everything that happens.

Twitter really is becoming quote a phenomenon and I’m willing to admit that I’m quite addicted to it as well. Most people kind of make fun of me for twittering so much, but I’m finding it to be a great tool, especially when following social trends. It really becomes most useful to marketers, advertisers, and designers. What I find most useful about it, is that it is a way to expose myself. It’s also a way for me to get instant feedback from pretty much anyone. It’s just simple and easy to use.

The most useful tool, trending topics and the search function. It seems now-a-days, trends are passing faster than ever. A few years ago it would be, “Wow! That was so last year” has turned into “Wow! That was so last second ago”. For example, last night I got home in time to watch the season premiere of “Glee”, and I really enjoyed the show! As I went to go check twitter, “Glee” was the top trending topic and as I clicked on it, I could tell you already that it was an instant hit. I know the folks at Fox are glad to get this instant feedback. They can almost substitute the Nielsen Ratings, with the Twitter trending topics. “Glee” went on to become the top trending topic for the next 24 hours as it seemed most people were finding out about the show from there friends and in turn watching it themselves on Hulu or iTunes. Now come the Fall, companies are going to know that they want to advertise during that time slot, knowing the show will get great ratings. Fox in turn, will be expecting advertisers to jump for those time slots. The show only premiered 24 hours ago, but I can sit here and tell you all of this simply through the world of Twitter.

People always tell me “I just don’t get Twitter!”. They kind of see it as boring, useless, mundane, information. However as an advertiser and designer I find this information to be vital and useful, therefore I contribute to this as well through my own twittering and I feel soon enough even more people will understand and join along. Just yesterday I commented on how I stumbled across the breakfast sandwich at Panera Bread. I said I enjoyed it and I know the folks at Panera are watching Twitter to see how people react to there product.

If you know me personally, you know I HAVE to say what I’m thinking. So Twitter may be just well suited for me. It’s simply an easy way to listen the people.

Leave a Reply

